Shawn’s Bold Browns Free Agency Predictions


So, let me preface this by saying two things. One, I’m mixing rumors, “sources”, speculation and in a few cases, pure guess work. Also, when I make bold predictions without a ton of evidence to back it up, I get it wrong a lot. Essentially, I’m writing this for fun and not counting on being write. That said, I think the Browns will be more active than most teams.

Now, let’s skip ahead to today at 4 PM.  What happens first?…

“The Cleveland Browns have signed SS Donte Whitner to a two year, $11.5 million dollar deal”

image

I believe the reports on Whitner to the Browns. I think this probably gets done pretty fast.

“The Cleveland Browns have signed FS Jairus Byrd to a 4 year, 33 million dollar deal.”

image

I’ve never really wavered in my belief that the Browns go after Byrd with intensity. Based on the number of teams that have dropped out of the race or signed elsewhere, I feel like the Browns have a very good chance of signing him.

“The Cleveland Browns have signed WR Golden Tate to a 3 year, 15 million dollar deal”

image

I’ve probably heard Golden Tate and Eric Decker mentioned as receiving targets for the Browns more than any other names. Between the two I feel like the Browns will see more value in Tate Ben and Decker.

“The Cleveland Browns have signed RB Ben Tate to a 4 year, 27 million dollar deal”

image

I’ll be honest. I don’t know for certain that the Browns are going to sign a running back at all. I honestly had not thought so until the last 24 hours. I probably let myself be swayed by the smoke screens and Twitter rumors, but here we are. I think it comes down to Ben Tate or Moreno, and Tate would be a better fit in Shanahan’s offense.

“The Cleveland Browns have signed WR Julian Edelman to a 3 year, 12 million dollar deal”

image

Don’t get me wrong, I think the Browns probably pick a receiver in this draft. But I also think they realize the mess they have on their roster outside of Josh Gordon. They need to build depth at this position, and bringing in Golden Tate and Julian Edelman will allow them to do that.

“The Cleveland Browns have signed QB Rex Grossman to a 2 year, 4 million dollar deal”

image

A lot of people seem to genuinely believe that the Browns will make a serious push for Matt Schaub. I’m more inclined to think that they talked to him, but end up bring in the cheaper Rex Grossman. Grossman knows Shanahan’s system, and can serve as a mentor as well as a legitimate backup option.

“The Cleveland Browns have signed G Wharton Trevelle to a 3 year, 18 million dollar deal”

image

Heading into free agency, I was positive the Browns were going to try and upgrade their guard positions here. But, The closer we’ve gotten, the more inclined I am to think that the team will use the draft to build their offensive line. Still, for the right price a guy like Wharton Travelle makes a lot of sense.

5 thoughts on “Shawn’s Bold Browns Free Agency Predictions

  1. Good read. Couple of thoughts. 7 million a year for a RB (and 4 yrs) seems like way too much. Would love the combo of Whitner and Byrd, esp with Whitner being a 2 year deal. I wouldn’t like 2 high paid safeties to have long term contracts. Don’t think we will sign 2 “big” name WRs, but who knows. I would prefer shorter term deals for WRs and try to get a stud in this stacked draft on the cheap. I really think it would be smart to sign a stop gap OG to a short term deal for depth and to help transition in a rookie guard. Overall I think they would be making a mistake by committing $30 million (on average) three years from now, unless the contracts were structured so we could make cuts after year 2. We are going to have a lot of our own talent up for new contracts soon…

    Like

Bark Right Here

