Devil Dawg’s Mock Draft 2.0


Not much changed at the top of my draft.

Round 1-4 – Sammy Watkins, WR, Clemson

I think it is fair to say that I have a man crush on Sammy Watkins. 4.34 and 4.37 unofficially is pretty sweet. I am truly excited about the possibility of him playing opposite of Gordon with Cameron underneath. There are not many teams in the league that can match-up with that lineup. Either Gordon or Watkins will end up in single coverage and teams will be forced to use a LB on Cameron. I love those match-ups. If we can get a ground game going too…watch out NFL the Browns may finally be back.

Round 1-26 – David Yankey, G, Stanford

All those weapons are useless if Hoyer does not have time to get them the ball. Yankey, in my opinion would be an upgrade at either of the guard spots. Here is a good scouting review of Yankey:

http://www.cbssports.com/nfl/draft/players/1737649/david-yankey

Round 2-35 – Chris Borland, ILB, Wisconsin – Previous Pick Lamarcus Joyner, S, Florida St.

Ray Farmer on what it means to be a Brown: “You talk about competitiveness, you talk about toughness, you talk about instincts, guys that play fast, guys that produce, guys that play relentlessly. All of those things are things that we kind of held independently that they just happened to match up.” Enter Chris Borland. Against the Buckeyes, Chris Spielman was gushing over the play of Borland. The kid is a hard-nosed football player. No he does not have the measureables. Watch him play though and you seem him in almost every tackle. Watch the first :30 and at the 3:02 mark. He stood Hyde up twice. Then he paid tribute to Turkey Jones.

Round 3-71 – Christian Jones, ILB, Florida St.

Why did I go for 2 ILBs? DQ cannot play forever and he has a sizable roster bonus due ($4M). Lets not forget that Craig Robinson is not the long term answer at the position. I like the speed displayed by Jones. With Eifert and Gresham in Cincy; Pitta in Balt if he returns; Miller and Spaeth in Pitt, we need a ‘backer that can stick with a TE if the scheme dictates it.

Round 3-83 – Carlos Hyde, RB, Ohio State – Previous Pick – Zach Mettenberger, QB, LSU

In the 3rd round, I thought Hyde was a good value. In reality, I see him going in Round 2. He appears to have good vision and I like how he hits a hole. He doesn’t do much dancing. The game that sealed the deal for me was the Big 10 Championship. Hyde ran 18 times for 118 yards against the nations #1 run defense.

Round 4-102 – Jimmy Garoppolo, QB, Eastern Illinois – Previous Pick – Terrance West, RB, Towson

I like the way he played in the Senior Bowl. He is more of a pocket passer and he did not play against elite competition. I see him sitting behind Hoyer for a year or two learning the trade. He has a very quick release and throws a nice ball.

Quick release

Round 4-123 – Zach Mettenberger, QB, LSU – Previous Pick – Deion Belue, CB, Alabama

I was surprised to find Mettenberger on the board here. I picked two QBs again during this mock draft. Lets face it, QB is one of the most important positions in the game. I think Hoyer is serviceable with the right weapons around him. After Hoyer, who do we have? I think Garoppolo and Mettenberger give us some talent that can be developed at the QB position.

Round 5-133 – Deion Belue, CB, Alabama – Previous Pick – De’Anthony Thomas, RB, Oregon

Shawn highlighted him in his first mock as a good value.  He played his senior season with a nagging toe injury and still managed to be a leader on the Alabama D. He is 5-11 and 183 with speed in the low 4.4s. I pick him up in the 4th round of my last mock.

Round 6-164 – Trai Turner, G, LSU – Previous Pick – David Fales, QB, San Jose State

This big man can move! He ran a 4.84 (unofficially) in the 40. He is a good value in the sixth round that could provide some depth on the O-line.

Round 7-195 – Aaron Colvin, CB, Oklahoma – Previous Pick -J.C. Copeland, FB, LSU

Shawn loves Vinnie Sunseri and has picked him in a couple of his mock drafts at this spot. While I would certainly be happy adding Sunseri, I decided to give you guys a different prospect to look at. Colvin is a little “hands-y” at times but he plays hard-nosed football. He also appears to have good hands and is not afraid of sticking his nose into the run game. He tore his ACL during Senior Bowl practice, so he will need some time to mend.

One thought on “Devil Dawg’s Mock Draft 2.0

  1. I was high on Farmer but now that he let Jackson go I’m not so sure any more. We’ll probably end up with so, so players in this draft and once again have a losing season. I hope and pray that I am wrong.

    Like

Bark Right Here

