Bold Browns Win/Loss Predictions


Well, I’m going to start this off with a bang. I think the Brown’s are going to win 9 games this year. Yeah, get the hell out of here, caution.

So, how did I reach this bold prediction? Well, I looked at the Brownies schedule, which to be honest, is pretty light. Combine that with what I safely assume will be diminished Baltimore and Pittsburgh teams, and we get what could be a winning season in Cleveland. Lets take a closer look. FYI, I don’t try and guess scores, it’s a total crapshoot and it only frustrates me.

Week 1 – Miami Dolphins

This is going to be a close game, I have no doubt. I give the edge to the Brown’s for a couple reasons. One, I think Weeden is better than Tannehill. Two, the Browns defense is more cohesive. Three, the Browns offensive line should hold up well against the Dolphins front seven. Four, the Browns hold a decent edge in the running game and special teams. Last, the Dolphins are a team built around free agency. They’re consistently rated highly in preseason rankings, only to prove that they lack chemistry.

RESULT: BROWN’S WIN

RECORD: 1-0

Week 2 – @Baltimore Ravens

This was going to be a tough game for the Browns before Baltimore got thumped by the Broncos. Now with that added in, I’m pretty sure Baltimore wins this one going away

RESULT: BROWN’S LOSE

RECORD: 1-1

Week 3 – @Minnesota Vikings

Don’t get me wrong, I have a ton of respect for Adrian Peterson. I don’t have any respect for Christian Ponder and the rest of the Vikings offense however. They’re defense will have a hard time managing the Brown’s downfield threat, or even containing T. Rich.

RESULT: BROWN’S WIN

RECORD: 2-1

Week 4 – Cincinnati Bengals

The Bengals stand to be one of the best teams in the league this season. They give the Browns a ton of match up issues. While the Browns have played them tough in recent years, I can’t see them winning either game against Cincy this year.

RESULT: BROWN’S LOSE

RECORD: 2-2

Week 5 – Buffalo Bills

This game presents the Browns an opportunity to really put on a show offensively. The Bills defense is overmatched is overmatched at just about every position. To make matters worse for Buffalo, they have a rookie quarterback up against a defense built to disrupt and pressure the quarterback. I see a big Browns win here.

RESULT: BROWN’S WIN

RECORD: 3-2

Week 6 – Detroit Lions

The Lions have a good QB in Matthew Stafford and an elite talent in Megatron. That said, they lack any real depth on offense, the line is shaky, and they have a mediocre defense. The Browns should do okay here.

RESULT: BROWN’S WIN

RECORD: 4-2

Week 7 @Green Bay Packers

I get the feeling that this game will actually be a shootout.  Chud and Co are too smart to think the Browns can defend Aaron Rodgers, so I have a feeling that they are going to cut Weeden and the receivers loose.  I imagine the full press of the vertical passing game to be on display here.  Still, I have a hard time betting against Aaron Rodgers just yet.

RESULT: BROWN’S LOSE

RECORD: 4-3


Week 8 – @Kansas City Chiefs

A lot of sports media types have the Chiefs listed as a sleeper this season.  Many predict a playoff run for them this year.  I don’t see it.  They have a solid team on paper, no doubt, but they had as much last season as well.  I think the Browns defense is a tough matchup for the Chiefs, and their defense doesn’t have the secondary to cover the Browns downfield, and doesn’t have the front seven to press through the Browns top 5 o-line.

RESULT: BROWN’S WIN

RECORD: 5-3


Week 9 – Baltimore Ravens 

While I don’t think the Browns are quite up to beating the Ravens in Baltimore in Week 2, I do think they can put together enough of an effort at home to pull one out against the Ravens.  I just don’t see the Ravens holding together down the stretch, and heading into the second half of the year, in Cleveland, I think the Brownies can take this one and split the season series against the hated Ravens.

RESULT: BROWN’S WIN

RECORD: 6-3


Week 10 – Bye


Week 11 – @Cincinnati Bengals

As much as I don’t like it, I just can’t see the Browns pulling out a win against the Bengals this year.  I actually buy into Cincy’s shot to make a deep playoff run, and the Browns just aren’t at that level yet.  Next year maybe.

RESULT: BROWN’S LOSE

RECORD:  6-4


Week 12 – Pittsburgh Steelers

For the first time in as long as I can remember, I’m not dreading the Browns playing the Steelers.  I like our odds at home, and I like what is sure to be a Pittsburgh team that will fade as the season goes on and as this game moves along.  I’d look for Pittsburgh to take an early lead, and the Browns to close and pass them through the second half.

RESULT:  BROWN’S WIN

RECORD: 7-4


Week 13 – Jacksonville Jaguars

The Jags are one of the true dumpster fires of the NFL.  The Browns shouldn’t have too much trouble here.

RESULT:  BROWN’S WIN

RECORD: 8-4


Week 14 – New England Patriots

This is where the Browns start the rough final stretch of their season.  I just can’t see the Browns beating the Pats again, even at home.  I don’t think it’ll be a high scoring game, likely one of those 13-10 type affairs, but without Phil’s leg I can’t see us eeking this one out.

RESULT:  BROWN’S LOSE

RECORD:  8-5


Week 15 – Chicago Bears

I had a really hard time picking this one.  I think the Bears will be better than last season, and much like Week 14 against the Patriots, I can’t see this being a high scoring affair, but without any real stability at Kicker, I see the Browns unable to pull this one out.

RESULT:  BROWN’S LOSE

RECORD:  8-6

Week 16 –  @New York Jets

I have a feeling by this point in the season, Rex Ryan will be gone, the Jets will be a full scale meltdown, and the Brown’s will hand them their rear ends.  Without much effort.

RESULT:  BROWN’S WIN

RECORD:  9-6

Week 17 –  @Pittsburgh Steelers

This game is gonna suck.  More than likely, we’ll be battling for a playoff spot, but at Pittsburgh in the final week, our young Browns will show their age and fall in a close grind of a game to the hated Steelers.  Sorry, but I just can’t see us sweeping Pittsburgh just yet.

RESULT:  BROWN’S LOSE

FINAL RECORD: 9-7

While I’m sure if we miss out on the playoffs in a final game loss to Pittsburgh, it would do well to remember how far this team has come in a short time.  5-11 to 9-7 is a huge jump.  I’m starting to believe again…

Bark Right Here

